ENG 112 Smith (Climate)
Finding Articles in Databases
The magazine & journal databases available through the Delta College Library website can help you find CREDIBLE resources based on your topic of research. You don't even need to be on campus! Login with your Delta Username and Password if off campus. Remember to limit to FULL-TEXT and by DATE using the filters.
Using Delta Library Databases
Getting Started with OneSearch
Video: 2:35 min
OneSearch: Finding Sources
Video: 4:44 min
OneSearch: Using an Article
Video: 2:29 min
Keywords & Search Strategy
For your ENG 112 essay, you will need more information about the climate emergency. This research guide can point you in the direction of resources that will help with your research. When using the Library databases it is important to think about keywords and your search strategy. Here are some steps to guide you:
- Identify your thesis statement or topic sentence.
- Brainstorm for keywords and synonyms you can plug into the databases (plugging sentences into the databases won't work).
- Think about how you will plug the terms into the article databases. You might do something like the example below:
- You can try using quotation marks for "phrase searching".
- Use the filters on the left of your search results screen to narrow or broaden your search.
Focused Database Searching
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowCredo helps gather background information from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, and subject-specific titles.
- Renewable Energy Resources and Alternative Fuels topic reports in CQ ResearcherBrowse reports about Renewable Energy in CQ Researcher for a wealth of background information.
- U.S. Major Dailies (U.S. Newsstream- Proquest) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to five of the country’s most respected national and regional newspapers: the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, the New York Times, the Washington Post, and the Wall Street Journal.