Research Guides: Open Educational Resources: OER: Math & Science

Algebra Textbooks

Pre-Algebra (OpenStax) Prealgebra is designed to meet scope and sequence requirements for a one-semester prealgebra course. The book’s organization makes it easy to adapt to a variety of course syllabi. The text introduces the fundamental concepts of algebra while addressing the needs of students with diverse backgrounds and learning styles. Each topic builds upon previously developed material to demonstrate the cohesiveness and structure of mathematics.
Elementary Algebra (OpenStax) Elementary Algebra is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of a one-semester elementary algebra course. The book’s organization makes it easy to adapt to a variety of course syllabi. The text expands on the fundamental concepts of algebra while addressing the needs of students with diverse backgrounds and learning styles. Each topic builds upon previously developed material to demonstrate the cohesiveness and structure of mathematics.
Intermediate Algebra (OpenStax) Intermediate Algebra is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of a one-semester intermediate algebra course. The book’s organization makes it easy to adapt to a variety of course syllabi. The text expands on the fundamental concepts of algebra while addressing the needs of students with diverse backgrounds and learning styles. The material is presented as a sequence of clear steps, which building on concepts presented in prealgebra and elementary algebra courses.
College Algebra (OpenStax) College Algebra provides a comprehensive exploration of algebraic principles and meets scope and sequence requirements for a typical introductory algebra course. The modular approach and richness of content ensure that the book meets the needs of a variety of courses. College Algebra offers a wealth of examples with detailed, conceptual explanations, building a strong foundation in the material before asking students to apply what they’ve learned.
Math Textbooks (OER Commons)
College Algebra (UMN) College Algebra is an introductory text for a college algebra survey course. The material is presented at a level intended to prepare students for Calculus while also giving them relevant mathematical skills that can be used in other classes. The authors describe their approach as "Functions First," believing introducing functions first will help students understand new concepts more completely.
Elementary Algebra (UMN) The importance of algebra, in particular, cannot be overstated, as it is the basis of all mathematical modeling used in applications found in all disciplines. Traditionally, the study of algebra is separated into a two parts, elementary algebra and intermediate algebra. This textbook, Elementary Algebra, is the first part, written in a clear and concise manner, making no assumption of prior algebra experience. It carefully guides students from the basics to the more advanced techniques required to be successful in the next course.
Elementary Algebra (UMN) Elementary Algebra is a work text that covers the traditional topics studied in a modern elementary algebra course. Use of this book will help the student develop the insight and intuition necessary to master algebraic techniques and manipulative skills.
Elementary Algebra (UMN) Elementary Algebra is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of a one-semester elementary algebra course.
Fundamentals of Mathematics (UMN) Fundamentals of Mathematics is a work text that covers the traditional study in a modern prealgebra course, as well as the topics of estimation, elementary analytic geometry, and introductory algebra.
Intermediate Algebra (UMN) Traditionally, the study of algebra is separated into a two parts, Elementary and Intermediate Algebra. This textbook by John Redden, Intermediate Algebra, is the second part. Written in a clear and concise manner, it carefully builds on the basics learned in Elementary Algebra and introduces the more advanced topics required for further study in applications found in most disciplines.
PreAlgebra (UMN) Prealgebra is a textbook for a one-semester course that serves as a bridge between arithmetic and algebra. It can be used in courses named “Basic Mathematics,” “Introductory Algebra,” “Fundamentals of Algebra,” and so on. The organization makes it easy to adapt the book to suit a variety of course syllabi.
Math in Society (UMN) Math in Society is a free, open textbook. This book is a survey of contemporary mathematical topics, most non-algebraic, appropriate for a college-level topics course for liberal arts majors.
College Mathematics for Everyday Life Textbook
Stitz Zeager Open Source Mathematics
Virtual Science and Lab Resource Directory (BC Campus)

Astronomy

HIgher Level Math Textbooks

Math Textbooks (OER Commons)
Algebra & Trigonometry (OpenStax) Algebra and Trigonometry provides a comprehensive exploration of algebraic principles and meets scope and sequence requirements for a typical introductory algebra and trigonometry course. The modular approach and the richness of content ensures that the book meets the needs of a variety of courses. Algebra and Trigonometry offers a wealth of examples with detailed, conceptual explanations, building a strong foundation in the material before asking students to apply what they’ve learned.
PreCalculus (UMN) A casual glance through the Table of Contents of most of the major publishers’ College Algebra books reveals nearly isomorphic content in both order and depth. Our Table of Contents shows a different approach, one that might be labeled “Functions First.” To truly use The Rule of Four, that is, in order to discuss each new concept algebraically, graphically, numerically and verbally, it seems completely obvious to us that one would need to introduce functions first. (Take a moment and compare our ordering to the classic “equations first, then the Cartesian Plane and THEN functions” approach seen in most of the major players.) We then introduce a class of functions and discuss the equations, inequalities (with a heavy emphasis on sign diagrams) and applications which involve functions in that class.
PreCalculus (UMN) These are notes for a course in precalculus, as it is taught at New York City College of Technology - CUNY (where it is offered under the course number MAT 1375). Our approach is calculator based. For this, we will use the currently standard TI-84 calculator, and in particular, many of the examples will be explained and solved with it. However, we want to point out that there are also many other calculators that are suitable for the purpose of this course and many of these alternatives have similar functionalities as the calculator that we have chosen to use. An introduction to the TI-84 calculator together with the most common applications needed for this course is provided in appendix A. In the future we may expand on this by providing introductions to other calculators or computer algebra systems.
Pre-Calculus (OpenStax) Precalculus is adaptable and designed to fit the needs of a variety of precalculus courses. It is a comprehensive text that covers more ground than a typical one- or two-semester college-level precalculus course. The content is organized by clearly-defined learning objectives, and includes worked examples that demonstrate problem-solving approaches in an accessible way.
Calculus vol. 1 (OpenStax) Calculus is designed for the typical two- or three-semester general calculus course, incorporating innovative features to enhance student learning. The book guides students through the core concepts of calculus and helps them understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them. Due to the comprehensive nature of the material, we are offering the book in three volumes for flexibility and efficiency. Volume 1 covers functions, limits, derivatives, and integration. Please note that this title is published under a CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 license, which means that you are free to use and adapt, but not for commercial purposes. Changes you make need to be shared using this license.
Calculus vol. 2 (OpenStax) Calculus is designed for the typical two- or three-semester general calculus course, incorporating innovative features to enhance student learning. The book guides students through the core concepts of calculus and helps them understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them. Due to the comprehensive nature of the material, we are offering the book in three volumes for flexibility and efficiency. Volume 2 covers integration, differential equations, sequences and series, and parametric equations and polar coordinates.. Please note that this title is published under a CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 license, which means that you are free to use and adapt, but not for commercial purposes. Changes you make need to be shared using this license.
Calculus vol. 3 (OpenStax) Calculus is designed for the typical two- or three-semester general calculus course, incorporating innovative features to enhance student learning. The book guides students through the core concepts of calculus and helps them understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them. Due to the comprehensive nature of the material, we are offering the book in three volumes for flexibility and efficiency. Volume 3 covers parametric equations and polar coordinates, vectors, functions of several variables, multiple integration, and second-order differential equations. Please note that this title is published under a CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 license, which means that you are free to use and adapt, but not for commercial purposes. Changes you make need to be shared using this license.
Calculus (UMN) Published in 1991 and still in print from Wellesley-Cambridge Press, the book is a straightforward introductory calculus textbook available free online to educators and self-learners alike. It is covers single variable and multivariable calculus, including applications.
Active Calculus (UMN) In Active Calculus, we endeavor to actively engage students in learning the subject through an activity-driven approach in which the vast majority of the examples are completed by students.
Active Calculus (GVSU)
College Trigonometry (UMN)
Principles of Business Statistics (OpenStax) (UMN) This textbook provides a brief introduction to the field of statistics, including examples of how these topics shows up in a variety of real-life examples.
Introductory Statistics (OpenStax) Introductory Statistics follows scope and sequence requirements of a one-semester introduction to statistics course and is geared toward students majoring in fields other than math or engineering. The text assumes some knowledge of intermediate algebra and focuses on statistics application over theory. Introductory Statistics includes innovative practical applications that make the text relevant and accessible, as well as collaborative exercises, technology integration problems, and statistics labs.
Introductory Statistics (UMN) Shafer and Zhang wrote Introductory Statistics by using their vast teaching experience to present a complete look at introductory statistics topics while keeping in mind a realistic expectation with respect to course duration and students’ maturity level.
Collaborative Statistics (UMN) Collaborative Statistics was written by Barbara Illowsky and Susan Dean, faculty members at De Anza Collegein Cupertino, California. The textbook was developed over several years and has been used in regularand honors-level classroom settings and in distance learning classes. Courses using this textbook have beenarticulated by the University of California for transfer of credit. The textbook contains full materials forcourse offerings, including expository text, examples, labs, homework, and projects. A Teacher's Guide iscurrently available in print form and on the Connexions site at and supplemental course materials including additional problem sets and video lectures are available. The on-line text for each of these collections collections willmeet the Section 508 standards for accessibility.
Introductory Business Statistics (UMN) The book "Introductory Business Statistics" by Thomas K. Tiemann explores the basic ideas behind statistics, such as populations, samples, the difference between data and information, and most importantly sampling distributions.
Statistics Spreadsheet
Statistics Using Technology Textbook
Stitz Zeager Open Source Mathematics
Quiz Exchange (Statistics)

Videos

Pre-Algebra videos From Bay College. Licensed BY.
Basic Algebra videos From Bay College. Licensed BY.
Intermediate Algebra videos From Bay College. Licensed BY.
College Algebra videos From Bay College. Licensed BY.
Higher Level Math videos

Biology

Biology (OpenStax)
Concepts of Biology (OpenStax)
Microbiology (OpenStax)
BCC Bioscience Image Library The BCC Bioscience Image Library is a media file repository of images and video clips made available to educators and students in the biological sciences. The resources are created by faculty, staff and students of Berkshire Community College and are licensed under Creative Commons 0. This means all content is free, with no restrictions on how the material may be used, reused, adapted or modified for any purposes, without restriction under copyright or database law.
Biology Textbook and Lab Manual (Open Oregon)
Anatomy & Physiology I (SUNY OER)
Click View course content and objectives
Virtual Science and Lab Resource Directory (BC Campus)
Quiz Exchange
Introduction to Environmental Science & Sustainability Introduction to Environmental Sciences and Sustainability is a college-level Open Educational Resource (OER) that focuses on the most relevant environmental science issues and addresses ways to incorporate sustainable practices. This resource is targeted at environmental science students.
more...less...
University of West Florida

Chemistry

Chemistry: Atoms First 2nd ed. (OpenStax)
Includes instructor resources
Chemistry 2nd ed. (OpenStax)
Chemistry texts (LibreTexts)
Introductory Chemistry (Open Textbook Library)
CLUE: Chemistry, Life, the Universe and Everything (MSU)
Organic Chemistry Lab Techniques
Virtual Chemistry Labs
Contact Robert Belford
List of virtual labs
NANSLO: North American Network of Science Labs Online
Organic Chemistry Libretexts provides several choices for Organic Chemistry OER textbooks
Online Chemistry Lab Manual
List of Chemistry texts (Open Textbook Library)
Virtual Science and Lab Resource Directory (BC Campus)
Text Map Around Tro's Chemistry Text (LibreTexts)
Quiz Exchange

Geology

An Introduction to Geology (Salt Lake Community College)

Open Educational Resources: OER: Math & Science

Algebra Textbooks

Astronomy

HIgher Level Math Textbooks

Videos

Biology

Chemistry

Geology

Physics