Today's Library Hours
View All Hours
Legal Research
United States Law
United States law is accessible from Federal websites. We also have access through databases in HeinOnline. Each type of law originates from the Three Branches of Government.
Use the links below to search for court forms, court opinions, laws, regulations, and more.
- Code of Federal Regulations | SuDoc Number: AE 2.106/3:
This link opens in a new window
This is the annual edition of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by departments and agencies of the Federal Government. - Federal Register (daily) | SuDoc Number: AE 2.106
- This link opens in a new window
The daily publication of the rules, proposed rules, and notices of the Federal agencies and organizations along with executive orders.
- Code of Federal Regulations (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new windowThe general and permanent rules and regulations published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the U.S. federal government.
- Federal Register Library (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new windowThe official journal of the federal government of the United States. The database is updated daily and its coverage is comprehensive, beginning from inception in 1936.
- United States Supreme Court Library (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new windowIncludes complete coverage of the official U.S. Reports bound volumes, as well as preliminary prints, slip opinions, and books and periodicals related to the U.S. Supreme Court.
- United States Reports (Supreme Court)
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Government Documents JU 6.8:The opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States are published officially in a set of case books called the United States Reports.
- United States Reports (Supreme Court) | SuDoc Number: JU 6.8:
- This link opens in a new window
Online access to the United States Supreme Court’s opinions. - United States Courts Opinions
- This link opens in a new window
United States Courts Opinions (USCOURTS) collection is a collaborative effort between the U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) and the Administrative Office of the United States Courts (AOUSC) to provide public access to opinions from selected United States appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts. This searchable collection dates back to April 2004,
- Fastcase (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new windowFastcase through HeinOnline provides federal and state case law from all 50 states.
- United States Code (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new windowThis collection includes complete coverage of the United States Code dating back to inception in 1925-1926.
- United States Code | SuDoc Number: Y 1.2/5 (GovInfo):
- This link opens in a new window
The United States Code, is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is divided by broad subjects into 53 titles and published by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives. While every effort has been made to ensure that the U.S. Code on govinfo is accurate, those using it for legal research should verify their results against the printed version of the U.S. Code available through the Government Publishing Office or a Federal Depository Library.
United States code, 2018 edition : containing the general and permanent laws of the United States enacted through the 115th Congress by Call Number: Reference KF62 2018 .A2
- Constitution of the United States: Analysis and Interpretation | SuDoc Number: Y 1.1/3:
- This link opens in a new window
Also known as the Constitution Annotated, it is the legal analysis and interpretation of the United States Constitution based primarily on Supreme Court cases.