Research Guides: Library Student Assistants Guide: Know Your Library

Space

Study Space

The Library has a variety of spaces for study including tables, individual study carrels, group study rooms and quiet study space. While talking, headphones and group work in the library are fine, please be mindful of your noise level. We really prefer not to "shush" people.

Group Study Space

The Library has 3 rooms available to Delta College students to use as group study, online class, presentation practice, virtual job interview space, etc. Rooms A136, A137 and A138 are located at the back of the library and are available by reservation.

Reserve a Group Study Room

Quiet Study Space

A135 is designated as the silent zone when it is not being used for class instruction. Study areas in the library "stack"/book areas are generally the quietest areas for study.

Open Computer Lab

The open computer lab is available during library hours. The Open Lab houses 86 PC and 17 Mac computers, four print kiosks that allow for networked or wireless printing, scanners and specialized software.

Pop Up Classroom

The area outside of A-125 is designated the pop-up classroom. It has six tables, twenty-four chairs, and a small whiteboard. It is partially separated from the open computer area by a half wall. Classes can use it for group work or to meet with their instructor; students can also bring their own devices. It does not have any computers.It can be reserved by faculty for use with classes. When the space is not reserved it can be used as an open study area.

Library Instruction Room

Room A135 is the Library Instruction room. It is available for instructors to schedule library orientations and instructions for their classes. Online forms are available for Faculty to request instruction. When the room is not in use for library instruction it is available for silent study.

Restrooms

Restrooms and a drinking fountain with a bottle filler are located at the front of the library.

Centers

Downtown Saginaw Center

The Learning Commons at the Downtown Saginaw Center includes open space for studying, 6 PC computer terminals and a connected printer, 2 group study rooms and anatomy and physiology models. Student assistants staff the information desk and a Librarian is available on Tuesdays. Librarians are also available via chat and email during main campus library hours. Students can request books from the Library collections be delivered to the Downtown Saginaw Center by placing a hold for an item and selecting Saginaw/Midland Center as the location. See step-by-step instructions on our Book Delivery Guide.

Downtown Bay City Center (Planetarium)

An open computer lab with 20 computers is available at the Downtown Bay City Center. One kiosk computer is always available for quick printing. Student assistants staff the computer lab and are available for assistance. Librarians are available via chat and email.

Downtown Midland Center

The Learning Commons at the Downtown Midland Center includes open space for studying, 4 PC computer terminals and a connected printer, one group study room and anatomy and physiology models. Student assistants staff the information desk and a Librarian is available on Thursdays. Librarians are also available via chat and email during main campus hours. Students can request books from the Library collections be delivered to the Downtown Midland Center by placing a hold for an item and selecting Saginaw/Midland as the location. See step-by-step instructions on our Book Delivery Guide.

Map

The Library is located in the A-Wing. Closest parking lots include the A-G area or A-S area lots.

Virtual Library Tour

Borrow

Who Can Borrow

Delta students, faculty and staff as well as community members can borrow material from the Delta College Library.

How to Borrow

Bring your student ID and/or driver's license, state ID or passport to the front desk in the library to borrow material. Student's will have a barcode placed on your Student ID. This will act as your library card.

Materials Available to Borrow and Loan Period

Material	Length
Books	21 days
Government Documents	21 days
Media	21 days
Reference Material	Does not circulate (in library use)
Print Magazines and Journals	Does not circulate (in library use)
Course Reserve Material	Checkout time varies (typically 4 hours in library use) Lab Kits and Fitbits (semester checkout)
Graphing Calculators	Semester Checkout (while supplies last) or 4 hours (in library use)
Laptop Lending Program	Semester Checkout (while supplies last)
Phone Chargers	2 hours (in library use)
Headphones	4 hours (in library use)
Anatomy Models	4 hours (in library use)
Seed Library	Bring back some seeds
Whiteboard/Whiteboard Markers	4 hours (in library use)
Play Scripts	4 hours (in library use)

Interlibrary Loan

Request to borrow material from other libraries. It's Free! Interlibrary Loan is available when the Delta College Library collection does not offer the material you need. You can request books, articles, or other materials.

Interlibrary Loan is available to Delta college faculty, staff, and students. Michigan residents not affiliated with Delta college may also use our interlibrary loan services. Patrons younger than 16 must have a parent or guardian initiate the interlibrary loan request.

All materials must be picked up and returned to the Delta College Library. Librarians reserve the right to determine how many items can be borrowed in totality. Materials belonging to other libraries cannot be placed on reserve.

Every attempt will be made to get the items you request. You will be notified if we are unable to obtain the items. Late, damaged, or lost material will result in fines and/or payment of the item. No replacement copy will be accepted.

Interlibrary Loan Request Form

Fines

Delta College Library is a fine free library. However, if an item is damaged or lost, the patron will be responsible for the replacement cost of that item. If a reserve items is lost or damaged, the patron will be responsible for the replacement cost of the item as determined by the specific academic department.

Renewals

Items with a 21-day checkout period can be renewed one time if the item is not overdue or requested by another patron. Renew items in person at the front desk or online.

Borrow from the Centers

Books can currently be requested to be sent to the Downtown Saginaw Center and the Downtown Midland Center. Requestors can place a hold on an item in the online library catalog and choose Saginaw/Midland Center as the location for delivery. For more information, visit the Library Book Delivery guide.

Valley Library Consortium (VLC)

You can search for material from over 60 area libraries by switching your search location in the online library catalog from Delta College Library to Everything. Request material by clicking the Place Hold button and entering your library card information. Materials will be delivered to the Library front desk for check out.

Michigan Electronic Library (MEL)

Search for and request material through the Michigan Electronic Library (MEL) using their website. Request material by clicking on the request this for me link in the MEL catalog, select Delta College as your delivery location and enter your library barcode information.

Collections

Research Databases

The Library subscribes to over 100 electronic databases providing access to hundreds of thousands of magazine and journal articles, ebooks, reference and primary sources and other material that may not be freely available on the internet. Visit the A-Z list of Databases for a complete list of available databases.

eBooks

The Library provides access to over 200,000 eBooks covering a variety of subjects. See the list of eBook databases available at this link through the A-Z database list or filter the A-Z list to eBooks when visiting the page.

Course Reserves

Faculty can put material such as textbooks, articles, media and equipment on reserve for students to borrow, usually for 4-hour periods or semester long checkouts. Reserve material can be checked out from the front/circulation desk with a student ID.

Books and Other Printed Material

The library houses over 50,000 print books. Most books are available for 21-day checkout with your student ID. Books can be searched using our online book catalog. You can renew books, place holds and request books from other Valley Library Consortium libraries using the online book catalog.

Collection Name	Collection Description
Circulating Collection	Primarily books that support the curriculum of Delta College.
Reference Collection	General and subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases and other works that give an overview of a topic. The DSM-5 is in this collection. This collection does not check out but can be used in the library.
Children's Literature	A collection of children's fiction and non-fiction picture books as well as young adult literature.
Oversize Collection	Oversize books (over 28cm in height) are interfiled with the circulating collection. Sometimes they might be found on the bottom shelf at their call number.
Graphic Novels	Popular, critically acclaimed collection of graphic novels.
Good Reads	Popular fiction and non-fiction paperbacks.
Delta Authors	Delta has many faculty authors. This collection is housed in the area near the reference desk.
Periodicals	Print Magazines and Journals. Periodicals do not check out but you can view them in the library. Photocopies, scans or photos can be made of articles.
Government Documents	Delta College is a Federal Depository Library and houses documents published by the Federal government. Visit the Government Documents website for more information about the collection.
Delta College Archives	The archives collect the history of Delta College. The collections are available by appointment. Visit the Delta College Archives website for more information