How Library Instruction Works at Delta Library
Not Finding What You Need?
Not finding what you need or need some help? Want a course and/or a Research Guide developed for your class? Please email us at library@delta.edu!
Finding Scholarly Sources for SOC 211 Research: Virtual Library Instruction
This interactive tutorial focuses on locating scholarly sources for sociology research in Delta Library's databases. It takes about 30 minutes to complete and contains an optional completion certificate that can be emailed or uploaded to an assignment in your eLearning course shell, providing a credit/no credit grade.
This course covers the following topics:
- What scholarly sources and peer reviewed articles are
- Why you should use library databases to find scholarly articles
- Accessing the SOC 211 Research Guide
- Developing keywords using your research topic
- Searching for scholarly articles in EBSCO Social Sciences Database, JSTOR, and Google Scholar
- Requesting an article from Interlibrary Loan
- Contacting the library for help
Finding Scholarly Sources for the SOC 250 Career Research Paper: Virtual Library Instruction
This interactive tutorial focuses on locating scholarly sources for the SOC 250 Career Research Paper. It takes about 30 minutes to complete and contains an optional completion certificate that can be emailed or uploaded to an assignment in your eLearning course shell, providing a credit/no credit grade.
This course covers the following topics:
- What scholarly sources and peer reviewed articles are
- Why you should use library databases to find scholarly articles
- Accessing the SOC 250 Research Guide
- Developing keywords using your research topic
- Searching for peer-reviewed articles in OneSearch
- Accessing eBooks
- How to request an article from Interlibrary Loan
- Contacting the library for help
Sociology Research Guides
- Sociology 211 Principles of SociologyThe Sociology 211 Library Instruction tutorial can be found on this guide.
- Sociology 250 Introduction to Social WorkThe SOC 250 Library Instruction Tutorial can be found on this guide.
Recommended Tutorials
Tutorials are available as both How-To Videos and Interactive Learning Tools. Both can be easily linked or embedded in your eLearning course shell.
Choose from the Interactive Learning Tutorials recommended especially for your class or visit our Tutorials Page to see them all, including our How-To Videos
- Take a Tour of the Delta Library Homepage!Want to know your way around Delta Library's resources? Take this quick tour of Delta Library's Homepage.
- Sources and Research Strategy activityThis 15-minute activity will introduce source types and a simple research strategy.
- Evaluating Websites - PTSDIs the web resource you found credible? Is it suitable for academic research? This activity will teach you how to evaluate web resources.
- Using KeywordsThis 10-minute mini-tutorial covers the basics of using keywords.
- Using OneSearch - Global WarmingLearn the basics of using Delta Library's OneSearch tool to find the resources you need in library databases in about 15 minutes.
- Introduction to CitationsWhat are citations, and why do we need them? How do you find citation information, and what is a citation style? Find the answer to these and other questions in this 20-minute activity.
- Last Updated: Jul 27, 2023 3:35 PM
- URL: https://library.delta.edu/howitworks
- Print Page